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Dear Ms. Alger:

Effective July 1,2016. the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC) requires that all
applicanls for a Mississippi real cstate broker's license or a rcal eslate salesperson's license,

including nonresidcnt licenses, and all applicants for renewal of any real estate license, shall

undergo a fingerprint-bascd criminal history records check of the Mississippi central criminal
database and the Federal Ilureau ol' lnvestigation crimina[ history database.

'l'he cunent Mississippi lau', as amended by the Mississippi Legislature and u hich became

cffcctivc July l, 20'16 (2016 Miss. Larvs S.B. 2725), provides that, in order for an applicant to

qualily for a Resident or a Non-Resident real estate broker's license or real estate salesperson's

license, and for the rcnewal of any existing license, an applicant must have been cleared for

licensure tkough an investigation *'hich determined that the applicant does not possess a

background rvhich calls into question public trust and a verification that the prospective licensee

is not guilt-v ofor in violation olany statutory ground for denial of licensure (Miss. Code Ann.

$73-35-21<g>). (See al.ro, Miss. Code Ann. $$73-35-7,73-35-8)'

This larv requires the Comrnission to rcview, among other things, the criminal history reports that

are generated from your background check. Such an omission could be considered a violation ol
MS. Code Ann, {97-7-10(l) (F-raudulent Statements and Reptesentations), which reads as follorvs:

.,Wliocvcr, with inleut to dcfraud thc state or any dcpartment, agcncy, oflice, board, conrmission.

county, municipality or other subdivision of state or local govcrnmsnt. knou'ingly and u'illfully

falsifies, conceals or covers up by trick, scheme or device a material fact, or makes any false,

fictitious or fraudulent statements or representations, or makes oI uses any false writing or

document knowing thc same to contain any false, fictitious or fraudulent statement or entry, shall,

upon conviction, be punished by a llnc olnot more than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00) ot by

imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, or by both such fine and imprisonment "

It should also be norcd that this offense may be in further violation of Rule 5. I (B) of the

Mississippi Real Estale Commission Rules and Regulations.
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The Legal Counsel and the Investigative Staffo[the Real Esute Commission has concluded that

the intbrmation obtained during the investigation ofyour license file and criminal histo4' 556q,

an are-c! rec,trd wilh conviction-s that was not brought to the Commissions attention or disclosed

at your renewal period for licensure.

'fhis Ofllcial Letter of Reprimand rvill be placed in your file to become a part olyour permanent

record. You should take every precaution to familiarize yourself with the Real Estate Brokers

Licensc Act of t 954, as Amended, and the Administrative Rules and Regulations ofthe Real Estate

Commission in order to avoid a serious violation which might affect the status ofyour license.

If you have any questions pcrtaining to this matter, plcase contact

Commission. He can be conlacted at 601-321'6978 or by e-mail at

Steve Miller, AltomcY for the

Rule 5.1 (B) states:

"Ever1 licensee shall, rvithin ten days, notify the Re al Estate Commission of an-v adverse

court decisions in n'hich thc liccnscc appcarcd as a defcndant."
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