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Dear Ms. [-ane:

Ellectivc July 1,2016, the Mississippi Real Ilstate Commission (MRllC) requircs that all
applicants for a Mississippi rcal estate broker's licensc or a rcal eslate salesperson's license,

including nonresidelt liccnses. and all applicants for rcnoval ol any real estate liccnse, shall

undergo a fingcrprint-based criminal history rccords check of the N,lississippi central criminal
database and thc Fcdcral Bureau of Investigation criminal history databasc.

The cunent Mississippi law, as amended by the Mississippi Legislature and rvhich became

cffective July l,2016 (?016 Miss. Larvs S.B. 2725), providcs that, in ordcr for an applicant to
qualify lor a Rcsident or a Non-Resident real cstatc brokcr's license or real estatc salesperson's
license, and for the rencu'al of any existing liccnse, an applicant must have been cleared for
licensure tkough an investigation which determined that the applicant does not possess a
backgrouad which calls into qucstion public trust and a verification that the prospective licensee

is not guilty of or in violation of any statutory ground lbr denial of licensure (Miss. Code Ann.

$73-35-21 <g>). (See also, Miss, Code Ann. $$73-35-7, 73-35-8).

This Iaw requires the Commission to review, among othcr things, the criminal history reports that

are generated lrom your background chcck. Such an omission could be considered a violation of
MS. Code Ann. $97-7-'10(l) (Fraudulcnt Statements and Ii.cpresentations), which reads as follows:

"Whoever, with intcnt lo defi'aud tlic stale or any departmcnt, agency, officc, board, conitnissiort,

countl', municipalit.r' or other suhdivisio:r olslatc or local governmcnt, knoivingly'and uillfully
falsifies, conceals or covers up by:rick, scheme or device a matcrial fact, or makes any false,

fictitious or fraudulent statemcnts or rcpresenlations, or nakes or uses any falsc rvriting or

document knouing thc same to contain any false, fictitious or fraudulent statement or cntry, shall,

upon convicrion, be punished by a finc ofnot more than l cn l'hortsand Doliars ($10,000.00) or bi'

imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, or by both such fine and imprisonmcnt."

It should also be nored that this offensc may be in lurther violation of Rule 5.1 (B) of the

Mississippi Real llstate Cornmission Rulcs and Regulatio:rs.
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Rule 5.1 (B) stxtcs:

"Everv licenscc shall, within aen days, notify thc Real I.lstate Commission of any adversc
courl dccisions in nhich the licensee appeared as a de[r:ndrnl."

the Legal Counscl and the Investigative Staffof the Real Estate Commission has concluded that

the inlbrmation obtained during the investigation ofyour liccnse file and criminal history shows

an arrcst record ii ith cc'nvictir:ns lhat was not brought to thc Comrnissicns attention or disclosed
al your renewal period for licensure.

This Otllcial l-ctter of Rcprimand u,ill be placed in your lilc to become a part of .your permanent

record. You should take every precaution to familiarizc l,ourself rvith the Real Estate Brokers

Licensc Act of 1954, as Amended. and thc Administrative Rules and Regulalions ofthe Real Estate

Commission in order to avoid a serious violation rvhich might affect the status of)our license.

If you have any questions pcrtaining to this rnatter. pleasc contact SteYe Miller, Attomey for the

Comnrission. I Ic can bc contactcd at 601-321-6978 or by e-mail at srnillerl4-imrec.state.ms.us.
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