
t{ltssissrppi lleal @staft Co mnrigEion

I F:F'l F]UR S Bi r jI:F TOWFR. SUITF trX)
rr& I i,\ \oRI.t. JACKSO\-. Ils .r9:l I

PO. BOX , t68i
JACKSON. TTS i9:ldrra}llPPr

February 13, 2019
OFFICIAI, I,ETTIiR OF REPRINIANI)

Joshua (Josh) Perrl'
305 Logan Court
Canton, IvlS 39046
s-501 50

Dear Mr. Perry:

The current Mississippi law, as amended by the Mississippi Legislature and which became

cfl'cctivc on July l, 2016 (2016 Miss. Laws 5.8.2725), provides that, in order for an applicant to
qualifu for either a Residcnt or a Non-Resident real eslate broker's license or real estate

salesperson's license, an applicant must have been cleared for licensure through an investigation
which determined that the applicant does not possess a backgroud which calls into question the

public trust and must include a verification that the prospective licensee is not guilty of or in
violation ofany statutory ground for denial of licensure (Miss. Code Ann. $73-35-21<g>). (,Sec

a/so, Miss. Code Ann. $$73-35-7, 73-35-8).

This law requires the Commission to review, among other things, the criminal history reports that

are generated from your background check. Such an omission could be considered a violation of
Miss. Codc Ann. $97-7-10(l) (Fraudulent Statements and Reprcsentations), which reads as

lollorvs:

"\\Ihocver, with intent to delraud thc s(ate or any department, agency, oflice, board, commission'

county, municipality or other subdivision of stale or local govemrnent, knowingly and willfully
falsifies, conceals or covers up by trick, scheme or device a material fact, or makes any false,

fictitious or fraudulent statements or reprcsentations, or makes oI uses any false writing or

document knorving thc samc to contain any false, fictitious or fraudulent statemcnt or cntry, shall,

upon conviction, be punishcd by a finc ofnot morc than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00) or by

imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, or by both such fine and imprisonment."

Thc Legal Counscl and the Invcstigative Staffof the Real Estate Commission has concluded that

the information obtaincd during the investigation ofyour license lile and criminal history shows

Effcctive.Iuly I,20t6, the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC) requires that all
applicants for a Mississippi real cstate broker's license or a real estate salesperson's license,
including nonresidcnt liccnses, shall undergo a fingerprinrbased criminal history records check of
the Mississippi central criminal database and the Federal Bureau oflnvestigation criminal history
database.



n arrest recl)rd with convictions that was not brought to the Comrnissions attention or disclosed

on lour application tbr licensure.

'l-his Oflicial Letter of Reprimand rvill be placed in your real estate licensing file to become a part

ol'1our permancnt rccord. You should take every precaution to f'amiliarize yourselfrvith the Real

l]statc Broksrs Liccnse r\ct of 1954, as Amended, and thc Administrative Rules and Regulations

of the Real Ilsrate Commission in ordcr to aroid a serious violation rvhich might negativcly impact

the stalus ofvour license.

ll'you have any qucstions pertaining to this matter, please contacl Stci,e Miller, Attomcy for the

Commission. Hc can be contacled at 601-321-6978 or by e-nrail at sm illerliilmrec.state.nts.us.

Rober{ E. Prartor
Adm inistrator
Mlsslsslppl Red Estrtc Comnlsslol
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