MississIPPI CHOOSES “ FIRM DATE” SCENARIO

On February 20, 2004, the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation adopted changes to the
Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria that will become effective on January 1, 2008. These changes
represent the minimum national requirements that each state must implement for individuals applying for a real
estate appraiser license or certification as of January 1, 2008. The changes include increased required
education, which is summarized below.

The Mississippi Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (Board) has reviewed the two options
developed by the AQB to implement the 2008 Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria and have decided
on the “FIRM DATE” scenario.

The ‘Firm Date’ scenario is defined as any credential issued by a state appraiser regulatory body on or after
January 1, 2008, must be in compliance with all components of the new AQB Real Property Appraiser
Quialification Criteria.

Under this scenario, it would not matter when an applicant completed his or her education, examination and
experience; if the credential is issued after January 1, 2008, the applicant must meet the requirements for all
components of the new Criteria.

Current 01/01/2008 01/01/2008 College-Level

Category Requirements” Requirements™? Course Requirements®

License 90 hours 150 hours None

Certified Residential 120 hours 200 hours Associate degree or higher. In lieu of the
required degree, Twenty-one (21) semester
credit hours covering the following subject
matter courses: English Composition; Principles
of Economics (Micro or Macro); Finance;
Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics;
Statistics; Introduction to Computers — Word
Processing/Spreadsheets; and Business or
Real Estate Law.

Certified General 180 hours 300 hours Bachelors degree or higher. In lieu of the
required degree Thirty (30) semester credit
hours covering the following subject matter
courses: English Composition; Micro
Economics; Macro Economics; Finance;
Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics;
Statistics; Introduction to Computers — Word
Processing/Spreadsheets; and Business or
Real Estate Law and two (2) elective courses in
accounting, geography, ag-economics;
business management or real estate.

1 Hours required include completion of the 15-hour National USPAP Course (or its equivalent).
2 Hours required include specific core curriculum courses and hours — please see the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria for details.
3 College-level courses and degrees must be obtained from an accredited college or university.

For complete information on the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria and Interpretations of the
Criteria as well as the latest information regarding these changes, please check the AQB website at
www.appraisalfoundation.org. Questions regarding the national requirements can be directed to The Appraisal
Foundation, 1029 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005 or via phone at (202) 347.7722.




