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Application Fees: 
1. Appraiser Intern $50.00 
2. Licensed & Certified $225.00 
 

Mississippi Real Estate Appraiser 
Licensing and Certification Board 

2506 Lakeland Drive, Suite 300 
Flowood, Mississippi  39232 

Post Office Box 12685 
Jackson, Mississippi  39236-2685 

Phone ~ (601) 932-9191 * Fax ~ (601) 932-3880 
www.mrec.state.ms.us 

 
 
 
 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR APPRAISER INTERN AND  
REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSING/CERTIFICATION 

(Type or Print in Ink) 
 
 

Applicants must read the “Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act” located on our website and the instructions with this 
form before completing their application.  An original letter of licensure of certification must be provided. 
 
 
 
1. LICENSE APPLICATION FOR MISSISSIPPI [    ] RESIDENT [    ] NON-RESIDENT 
 
  [    ] Appraiser Intern ~ 75 classroom hours 
  [    ] Licensed Real Estate Appraiser ~ 90 classroom hours [    ] Track One [    ] Track Two 
  [    ] State Certified Residential Appraiser ~ 120 classroom hours (2500 hours) 
  [    ] State Certified General Appraiser ~ 180 classroom hours (3000 hours) 
 
2. NAME OF APPLICANT Mr. [   ] 
    Mrs. [   ]   
    Miss [   ] (First) (Middle) (Last) 
 
 
3. RESIDENCE ADDRESS 
    (Street)  (City/State) (Zip – 9 digit if known) 
 
 
4. BUSINESS ADDRESS 
    (Street/PO Box) (City/State) (Zip – 9 digit if known) 
 
 
5. DRIVER’S LICENSE #    SS#  
 
 BUSINESS PHONE #     HOME PHONE #  
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6. Indicate below if you have been licensed or certified as a Real Estate Appraiser or Real Estate Broker or  
 Salesperson in Mississippi or any other state. 
 
  [    ] Have NOT been licensed   [    ]  Have been licensed 
 
 

Type of License  State where obtained  Valid dates of License 
     
     
     
 
 
7. Have you been denied an appraisal license in Mississippi or any other state?  If Yes, furnish date, state and type  
 of license denied. 
 
 
8. Has any license held by you been revoked or suspended in this or any other state?        [    ]  Yes [    ]  No 
 (If yes, furnish state of details on separate sheet.) 
 
 
9. What has been your business or occupation for the past 5 years?  Give place where employed for 60 days or more and  
 account for entire time.  If self-employed, list nature of business and address. 
 
 
 (Employer) (Street & Number) (City/State/Zip) (From) (Until) 
 
  
 (Employer) (Street & Number) (City/State/Zip) (From) (Until) 
 
 
 (Employer) (Street & Number) (City/State/Zip) (From) (Until) 
 
 
 (Employer) (Street & Number) (City/State/Zip) (From) (Until) 
 
 
 (Employer) (Street & Number) (City/State/Zip) (From) (Until) 
 
 
10. Give the names and addresses of at least three (3) businessmen who have known you for the last five years.  Relatives  
 should not be listed. 
 
 (Name) (Business) (Street & Number) (City) (State) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
11. Have you been convicted of any criminal offense? [    ]  Yes      [     ]  No Misdemeanor [    ] 
 (If YES, furnish a statement of details.)  Felony [    ] 
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12. Has anyone obtained a judgment against you in any court?   [    ]  Yes    [    ]  No (If YES, furnish dates,  
 disposition or if appropriate, Petition for Voluntary Bankruptcy Schedules and Discharge.) 
 
 
13. Are you an American citizen?      [    ]  Yes         [    ]  No         If not, how long in U.S.?   
 
 
14. Date of Birth    Place of birth  
  (Mo.       Day        Yr.)    (City)      (County)  (State) 
 
 
15. How long have you been a resident of present state? 
 
 
16. Last year, did you file income tax in the State of Mississippi?       [    ]  Yes       [    ]  No (If NO, please explain.) 
 
 
17. Give the name and address of the banks where you have accounts. 
 
 
 (Bank) (Street & Number) (City) (State & Zip Code) 
 
 
 (Bank) (Street & Number) (City) (State & Zip Code) 
 
 
 

 
APPRAISAL EDUCATION (All Applicants) 

 
18. List below appraisal courses you have completed which satisfy the requirements set forth in Rule 1.  The original  
 certificate, certified copy thereof, college transcript or official grade form must be attached. 
 
 

COURSE TITLE  PROVIDERS/INSTITUTION  NO. OF 
HOURS 

MO/YR 
COMPLETED
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19. 
APPRAISAL EXPERIENCE REPORTING FORM 

FOR STATE CERTIFIED APPLICANTS 
 

For Appraisals Performed 
(Definitions are set forth under Rule 2) 

 
TYPE OF APPRAISAL PERFORMED 

Review Appraisals 
 
TYPE OF 
PROPERTY 
APPRAISED 

Full Appraisals 
(field review) (desk review) 

RESIDENTIAL 
CATEGORY 

No. apps Point Value Points No. 
Apps 

Point 
Value 

Points No. 
Apps 

Point 
Value 

Points 

Non-Complex  x 3 =   x 1 =   x .5 =  
          
Complex  x 6 =   x 2 =   x 1 =  
          
(Limited to 1-4 
family residential 
units) 

SUBTOTALS 
(OVER 4 UNITS,REPORT IN  

GENERAL CATEGORY) 

  
+ 

   
 + 

  

     TOTAL RESIDENTIAL 
APPRAISAL POINTS

 

 
AT LEAST 300 POINTS FOR CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL APPLICANT MUST BE FROMM THIS CATEGORY.  TOTAL 
REQUIRED – 600 WITH NO MORE THAN 375 IN A SINGLE YEAR.  MATERIALS SUBMITTED BECOME THE PROPERTY 
OF THE BOARD AND ARE NOT TO BE RETURNED. 
          
GENERAL 
CATEGORY 

No. apps Point Value Points No. 
Apps 

Point 
Value 

Points No. 
Apps 

Point 
Value 

Points 

Non-Residential 
Non-Complex 

  
x 4 = 

   
x 2 = 

   
x 1 = 

 

          
Non-Residential 
Complex 

  
x 16 = 

   
x 4 = 

   
x 1 = 

 

          
 SUBTOTALS  +    +   
     TOTAL GENERAL 

APPRAISAL POINTS
 

          
AT LEAST 360 POINTS FOR CERTIFIED GENERAL APPLICANT MUST BE FROM THE GENERAL CATEGORY.  TOTAL 
REQUIRED 720 WITH NO MORE THAN 450 IN A SINGLE YEAR.  MATERIALS SUBMITTED BECOME THE PROPERTY 
OF THE BOARD AND ARE NOT TO BE RETURNED. 
 
 
TOTAL COMBINED RESIDENTIAL AND GENERAL APPRAISAL POINTS 

 

 
 
 
20. Applicants for State Certified Licensure must include two (2) appraisals used in above caterogies.  Copies will suffice.   
 Applicant will submit at least one complex appraisal utilizing all three (3) approaches to value. 
 
 Submit verification form with list of those appraisals being used to establish appraisal experience. 
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AFFIDAVIT 
21.            (Read Carefully) 
 

The undersigned, in making this application to the Mississippi Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification 
Board for permit/license to carry on the business of appraising real estate under the provisions of the Mississippi Real 
Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act swears that he or she has read and is thoroughly familiar with the 
provisions of the Act, and Rule/Regulations issued by the Board and agrees to comply fully with them.  The 
undersigned further swears that all of the information given in this application is true and correct to the best of his or 
her knowledge and belief.  It is understood that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosure may be 
deemed sufficient reason to deny permit or permission to take an examination or to deny licensure or certification 
after examination or to withhold renewal of or to take an examination or to deny licensure or certification after 
examination or to withhold renewal of or suspend or revoke a permit/license or certificate issued by the Board.  
Under Section 73-34-47 all applications maintained in the office of the Board are a matter of public record.  
Therefore, this application and other information submitted with the application may be reviewed by members of the 
general public under reasonable rules and regulations established by the Board.  I hereby authorize any financial 
institutions, education institutions or any other agencies, public or private, federal or state, to release any information 
contained in their files to the Mississippi Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board and/or the 
Mississippi Real Estate Commission.  I also agree to cooperate fully with any investigation involving possible 
violations of the Act and Rule/Regulations established by the Board. 
 
 
   Signature of Applicant  
 
 
 

Subscribed and sworn to before me, this           day of          , 20   
 
 

My Commission expires      
         (Notary Public) 
 
 
  (S E A L )      (County) (State) 
 
 
22. 

P H O T O G R A P H S 
(Attach Photos Below) 

 
 
 
   
 
 
 
            2 ½ X 3 ½            2 ½ X 3 1/2 
          FULL FACE       PROFILE VIEW 
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PLEDGE / CERTIFICATION 
 
 

_________________________________________, pursuant to Sections 13 and 37 of the Mississippi Real Estate 

Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act of 1990 (Act), pledge to comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice and generally accepted ethical rules to be observed by a licensed/certified real estate 

appraiser as directed by the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council and 

Appraisal Standards Board/Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation.  I understand that after a 

public hearing, the Mississippi Appraisal Board (Board) may make such modifications in excess of those standards 

and ethical rules as the Board deems appropriate for Mississippi. 

 

I also certify that I have read the Act and Rules/Regulations established by the Board and understand they types of 

misconduct, as set forth in the Act and Rules/Regulations, for which disciplinary proceedings may be initiated 

against me as a licensed/certified appraiser. 

 

 

 

        (Signature) 

 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me, this       day of          , 20   
 
 

My Commission expires      
         (Notary Public) 
 
 
  (S E A L )      (County) (State) 
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SUPPLEMENT TO APPLICATION 
NON-RESIDENT OF MISSISSIPPI 

 
 
I am a licensed/certified real estate appraiser in the state of   and a legal 
resident of the state of  desiring to obtain a Mississippi real estate appraiser 
license in order to conduct real estate activity within the state as defined in Chapter 32, Title 73, Mississippi Code of 
1972 Annotated. 
 
As an applicant for a non-resident real estate appraiser license pursuant to Rule 9, I hereby agree to the following: 
 

 
By affixing my signature to this document, I am filing a statement of irrevocable 
consent with the Mississippi Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
(Board) that legal actions may be initiated against me in the proper court of any 
county of Mississippi in which a cause of action may arise or in which the plaintiff 
may reside by service of process or pleading upon me may be made by delivery of 
the process or pleading to the Secretary of State of Mississippi, if, in an action against 
me in a court of Mississippi arising out of my activities as a real estate appraiser in 
Mississippi, the plaintiff cannot, in the exercise of due diligence, effect personal 
service upon me.  The consent stipulates that the service of process or pleading shall 
be taken in all courts to be valid and binding as if personal service has been made 
upon me within the State of Mississippi.  I also consent to have any hearings 
conducted by the Board pursuant to Section 73-34-41, Mississippi Code of 1972 
Annotated, at a place designated by the Board. 

 
 

 

        (Signature) 

 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me, this       day of          , 20   
 
 

My Commission expires      
         (Notary Public) 
 
 
  (S E A L )      (County) (State) 
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VERIFICATION FORM FOR CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL / GENERAL 

LIST OF APPRAISAL USED TO ESTABLISH APPRAISAL EXPERIENCE (ITEM 19) 

 

DATE OF 

APPRAISAL 
 

IDENTIFICATION OF APPRAISAL (Your Code 

Number, Address or Other) 

TYPE OF APPRAISAL PERFORMED 

(As used in Item 21A) 
POINT VALUE 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 


