MISSISSIPPI HOME INSPECTOR DIVISION

How to become a Licensed Home Inspector

First Step: Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing coursework from the provider of your choice. Acceptable providers/coursework criteria:

- If the coursework is accepted by any State Home Inspector Board, it will be acceptable for pre-licensing education by the MREC.
- Any coursework is acceptable if it is designated as Pre-Licensing Education which is Certified by ANY Society, Institute, Council or Home Inspector Association.
- Any Pre-Licensing coursework which is approved by the U.S. Department of Education.

A provider has to meet **ONE** (1) of the above criteria(s) in order to be accepted.

Second Step: Contact the National Home Inspector's Exam Office and schedule your proctored exam. The MREC does not administer or schedule the exam. You must contact NHIE (contact info below) to schedule an exam. In order to be acceptable for licensure, the NHIE must have been passed within three (3) years of making the formal application for a license.

> **National Home Inspector Examination** 800 East Northwest Highway, Suite 700 Palatine, IL 0074 (847) 298-7750 - Telephone

You are required to pass the National Home Inspector Examination. For complete information and to register, go to www.homeinspectionexam.org

Third Step: Obtain your general liability AND errors and omissions insurance. Two separate types of coverage(s) is required:

- Minimum coverage of \$250,000.00 per incident on both types of coverage.
- Errors and Omissions and General Liability MUST be listed on the Certificate of Liability as separate coverages.
- The individual **Home Inspector's name** must be on the Certificate of Liability; not the name of any company with whom the Home Inspector may be employed.

Once these first three steps are completed, you may print an application from the MHIB website (www.mrec.ms.gov), complete it and mail to the Post Office Box. You will attach proof of:

- 60 hours pre-licensing coursework
- Proof of passing national exam
- Certificate of Insurance for General Liability AND E&O coverage
- Copy of high school or college transcript OR diploma
- \$500.00 check or money order (\$175.00 application and \$325.00 licensure)

State Statute allows MREC up to 30 days to issue the license. However, in most cases the Home Inspector License will be issued with five (5) working days of receipt of the fully completed application, the accompanying documentation and the proper fees. Please submit all necessary documents and fees in a single submission.

ADDITONAL NEW HOME DESIGNATION REQUIREMENTS ARE:

You <u>must</u> have an <u>active</u> residential builders (contractors) license.

<u>You must have an active certification with the International Code Certification</u> <u>Council (ICCC)</u> or similar Certification Organization in **ONE** of the residential courses below. There are no exceptions.

Housing Rehabilitation Inspector	Electrical Mechanical Inspector
Building Inspector Commercial	Building Plan Examiner
Electrical Inspector	Plumbing Plan Examiner
Plumbing Inspector	Electrical Plan Examiner
Reinforced Concrete Special Inspector	Legal & Management
Fire Inspector I	Fire Safety Plan Examiner
Fire Inspector II	International Property Maintenance &
One and Two-Family Dwelling Inspector	Housing Inspection
Zoning & Property Standards Inspector	Florida Modular Building Inspection
Mechanical Plan Examiner Residential	Florida Modular Building Plan & Coastal
	Construction